Error when using HTTP Portable class library & compression

I was trying to use the new HTTP Portable class library with the new compression capabilities (as described in this MSDN post).

I created a portable class library that retrieved data, and then used that library in my app. However my app kept throwing this error:
Method not found: ‘Void System.Net.Http.HttpClientHandler.set_AutomaticDecompression(System.Net.DecompressionMethods)’.

After searching for hours, I discovered the issue is that you need to add the portable HTTP client to BOTH your portable class library AND any app that consumes that assembly. I resolved the issue simply by adding the portable HTTP client Nuget package to my app.

2 Responses to “Error when using HTTP Portable class library & compression”

  1. rob Says:

    Thanks a lot! Was having the same problem, but works now with your help.

  2. Mohau Says:

    Thanks a lot buddy! I spent the whole day stressing over this error!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

