Converting a DVD to Silverlight media with Expression Encoder

Recently i delivered some training and had it recorded on one of those new cam corders that record straight to DVD. I wanted to reencode my DVD into silverlight media using Expression Blend and then upload it to http://silverlight.live.com however I had some issues so I’ll explain how I got around them.
There are a few issues that need to be addressed

  1. You need a valid MPEG-2 codec installed on your PC so that Expression Blend can read the DVD video
  2. Due to some issues with Expression Blend, you will need to extract the file from the DVD to your computer before trying to import into Expression Blend (otherwise it may mistakenly say that the video is only 40seconds)

So first install a codec pack onto your PC. I recommend http://www.free-codecs.com/download/K_lite_codec_pack.htm or http://www.cccp-project.net/

Right now you may just be able to import your DVD into Expression Blend. But if you are getting the incorrect timing issues, then try extracting the DVD to your hard drive first using http://www.videohelp.com/tools/VOB2MPG

Leave a comment if this helped you out

By David Burela

4 Responses to “Converting a DVD to Silverlight media with Expression Encoder”

  1. James Clarke Says:

    Actually, the retail version of Expression Encoder includes a MPEG2 decoder so you don’t need a codec pack.

  2. ArielTM Says:

    Thanks,
    VOB2MPG fixed the timing problem I had

  3. libertarian Says:

    Heya fantastic website! Does running a blog such as this take
    a large amount of work? I’ve absolutely no knowledge of computer programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon.

    Anyway, if you have any recommendations or
    tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I just needed to ask.
    Appreciate it!

  4. buyingphen375online. phentemine Says:

    Amazing issues here. I’m very happy to peer your post.
    Thanks so much and I am looking ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

